About The Holy Bible

The word Bible actually means book, but it would be more accurate to call it an anthology - a collection of books. The Holy Bible consists of 66 books, 39 books in the Old Testament, written in Hebrew and Aramaic, and 27 books in the New Testament, written in Koine Greek.

The entire Bible was written by around 40 different authors from many different backgrounds, in several different styles and genres (history, law, poetry, prophecy, biography, and letters), over the span of around 1500 years. Yet, it paints an amazingly consistent picture of God and his unique son, Jesus Christ. In fact, the entire Bible is ultimately concerned with God's plan to bring his son into the world to save his people.

If you have never read the Bible for yourself, but have believed what others have said about it, the chances are you really do not know the truth of it. If it is just a book of myths then it will not make much difference to your future, and Christians are fools for believing it. But if it is indeed the very words of God then the consequences for anyone who ignore it will be eternal. I would therefore strongly urge you to read it and decide for yourself. Eternity is far too important for you to merely rely on the opinions and hearsay of others.

Should you decide to read it, I pray that God will bless you with a humble heart and an open mind, and that the Holy Spirit will personally guide you into all truth (John 16:13). Amen.

Jason N. Yip